Announcement of 2016 Peter P. Chen Award: Prof. Oscar Pastor

Atualizado há 7 anos

On behalf of the ER Steering Committee, we are pleased to announce the winner of the 2016 Peter P. Chen Award: Oscar Pastor of the Universitat Politecnica de Valencia.

 Initiated by Elsevier in 2008 to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the journal Data and Knowledge Engineering, the Peter P. Chen Award honors one person each year for his or her outstanding contributions to the field of conceptual modeling.  The winner will receive a prize of $2500 sponsored by Elsevier Publishing Company, and also will give a keynote speech at the ER2016 conference to be held November 14-17 in Gifu, Japan.   

The selection process was done according to the following five criteria:

* Research: how well the nominee has helped advance the field of   conceptual modeling with his/her intellectual contributions.
* Service: participation in the organization of conceptual-modeling-related meetings and conferences and participation in editorial   boards of conceptual-modeling-related journals.
* Education: how effectively the nominee has mentored doctoral students  in conceptual modeling, produced researchers from their labs, and   also helped mentor young people in the field.
* Contribution to practice: the extent to which the nominee has   contributed to technology transfer, commercialization, and   industrial projects.
* International reputation: the extent to which the nominee’s work is   visible to and has diffused into the international community.
The 2016 selection committee consisted of Stephen Liddle, Heinrich Mayr, Carlo Batini, Tok Wang Ling, and Il-Yeol Song.  The committee reviewed the qualifications of the nominees, and chose Professor Pastor because he “has been a towering figure in the field of conceptual modeling for more than two decades”.  Prof. Pastor has contributed both through research and service to the community, and his work has had an impact both on research and practice.  On all of the criteria dimensions (research, service, education, practice, reputation), Oscar Pastor is exemplary.  He was previously recognized as an ER Fellow in 2010.  We extend our congratulations and best wishes to Dr. Pastor and his family.
Winners of the Peter P. Chen Award include:
  • 2016 Oscar Pastor, Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
  • 2015 Il-Yeol Song, Drexel University, USA
  • 2014 Antonio L. Furtado, Pontificia Univ. Catolica do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • 2013 Carlo Batini, Universita degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy
  • 2012 Stefano Spaccapietra, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • 2011 Tok Wang Ling, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • 2010 John Mylopoulos, University of Trento, Italy
  • 2009 David Embley, Brigham Young University, USA
  • 2008 Bernhard Thalheim, University of Kiel, Germany
More information about this award can be found at
(Acessos 307)